Search the dictionary
Search Chinese-Tools.com
View recent posts | Search | Navigate:

Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Help me with my book... plz. smiling smiley
Posted by: Jemima (IP Logged)
Date: March 29, 2015 10:41AM
Hi!

I'm a Swedish writer and science teacher, and right now I'm working on a novel in which a Chinese boy is one of the main characters. The story takes place in a place far away, where this boy -- among with lots of others -- are living in a refugee camp.

Since I want my story to be realistic and since Chinese culture and language are different from mine, I’m afraid of making too many mistakes.
Could anyone help me? It would be greatly appreciated if you would!

Questions:

1. I have read a lot about Chinese naming traditions but being a foreigner I’m afraid my names will seem strange…
I named my main character Huang JinHai and he is 18 years old. Because they are living in a refugee camp with not much to do, the parents have several children (I know they usually don’t in China, but they don’t live there so…)

The story is set in the future, about 35 years from now. The people in the refugee camp were all farmers/peasants etc and the reason they had to flee was a natural disaster due to climate change in the future…

Here are the names of my main character’s family:
My main character, 18 years old: Huang JinHai 黄金海
Father, born year 2002: Huang BoHai 黄薄海
Mother, born year 2005 or so: Feng JiaLi 丰佳李
Young brother: Huang JinXing 黄金星
Young brother: Huang JinHang 黄金航
Young sister: Huang Jinfeng 黄金风
Young sister: Huang JinYun 黄金云
Youngest sister: Huang JinJin 黄金金

The sky/space theme of the name is intentional.
What do you think, will those names work? smiling smiley

2. Regarding relationships…
JinHai meets a girl whom he at first thinks is a couple of years younger than him, but later he learns that she is about 2 years older than him.
Would he treat her differently at first, when he though she was younger? If so, how?