Search the dictionary
Search Chinese-Tools.com
View recent posts | Search | Navigate:

Goto Thread: PreviousNext
To learn Chinese in Yangshuo
Posted by: Libby (IP Logged)
Date: May 09, 2011 02:31AM
Has anyone studied Chinese at a language school in Yangshuo? What was your experience? Any advice for very short-term study of just a few weeks?

How are the accommodations?

Thanks in advance.

Re: To learn Chinese in Yangshuo
Posted by: Tangfangren (IP Logged)
Date: May 09, 2011 02:45AM
I studied at Omeida Chinese Academy for 4 weeks half year ago (September 2010), so although it's been a while, I'm hoping my experience might be helpful. I have to say I thought it was a very good school, much better teachers than a previous experience in Beijing.

There were not many day-time students at the time though, which made me wonder about the financial situation, although they had a chinese department. For most of the time I was there, there were only four other day-time students, which wasn't too bad for me, and because our level wasn't the same it meant private classes for me instead of group classes (same price).

The teachers were great, although two of them left for another school during and just after my stay there, but according to the school they just went to another branch from the same school.

The apartment they provide was decent, which is near the school and the neighborhood had lots of restaurants and a few practical places nearby, such as a small supermarket, pharmacy, a local night market.

So all in all it was certainly a great experience, and I would recommend both Yangshouo (beautiful Town) and the school.

Posted by: Annie.Gouglass (IP Logged)
Date: May 10, 2011 03:27AM