Search the dictionary
Search Chinese-Tools.com
View recent posts | Search | Navigate:

Goto Thread: PreviousNext
How much time and what methods to study Chinese? (Newbie)
Posted by: Guitaristinbj (IP Logged)
Date: September 03, 2009 12:58AM
Greetings all. Newbie here. no . not niu bi.

long time resident in Beijing from America who never studied chinese but, finally reached a point where I want to start it and think that i should ask some questions and get to know you all.

I have a basic understanding of the tones, pinyin and can speak enough to order some foods, get around on buses or taxis and piss people off if need be. .hehe

so my first question is this.

1. how much time do you spend studying? and what methods do you suggest to begin?

thanks

guitarist in beijing

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 09/08/2009 02:30PM by Olive.

Re: To learn chinese
Posted by: Shenlord (IP Logged)
Date: September 06, 2009 12:11PM
Hi.
I think you need several things.

1. A good bilingual teacher. I prefer a teacher who knows both languages really well so they understand the path between English and Chinese. Just being a native does not make a good teacher. Check our different ones. Get a trial lesson. If you don't enjoy the class and the approach, move on. Till you find someone who is smart, competent and caring.
2. Good written and audio materials. As a beginner you can use Pimsleur - good but pricey. the Michel Thomas Mandarin series is really great to build a foundation with speaking the tones. Any good combination of grtammar and vocab building book with audio practice. Google learn Mandarin and you will find a lot of free and paid resources.
3. chineseLingq and chinesepod both are great companies that help you develop your comprehension fast. Serge melnik is a westerner who teaches chinese through podcasts. He is good too. You can find lingq and melnik on itunes for free as well.